Pumpkin Pasties

Hello muggles and non-muggles,

how was your Thanksgiving holiday? I had this great Pumpkin Cheesecake, mmm. I managed to snap a pic through the bustle of dinner and serving it.

IMG_4595

Naturally, I had no leftover cheesecake.

However, I did have leftover pumpkin and pie dough! Thus, the pumpkin pasties were made.

I don’t  think I mentioned that I’m a Harry Potter fan. Well, I am. I’m a huge fan. I like the series. I love the series.

I am a crazy HP fangirl. There, I admitted it!

Anyways, I had all this leftover ingredients, so a week later I made these yummy pastries.

Pumpkin pasties are like hand pies. Now usually pasties are supposed to be savory, but I always imagined this treat, from the trolley lady, to be sweet. You know, because it’s on the sweets cart.

I made these before, but with a different recipe. It’s just as good as this one, except it requires more baking.

http://www.geekychef.com/2009/01/pumpkin-pasties_25.html

This is a step-by-step recipe for pumpkin pasties. Enjoy!

IMG_8505

Roll out your favorite pie dough. I used the recipe for 1 9-inch pie crust, but you can double the recipe if you want more.

IMG_8530

Cut out a circle. I just used the top of a  small bowl.

IMG_8533                                                                                     I don’t know why I find this funny. But it is.

IMG_8534Onto the baking sheet it goes. (I got this silicone sheet at Costco, and it comes in a pack of 3. It was so much cheaper than other places that only sell 1 for the same price as my pack of 3.) 

IMG_8537                                                Just cut out as many as you can. You might have to re-roll the dough or more space.

IMG_8506                                                    Now, onto the filling! Just plop in 1 cup of pureed pumpkin into your mixing bowl.

IMG_8509

Add in 1/4 cup of sugar.

IMG_8513         Add 1/4 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. Instead pumpkin pie spice, you can use of  1/8 teasp. of nutmeg and cinnamon each.

IMG_8518                                                                                                                      Mix, mix, mix, mix!

IMG_8517                     I added a little bit of cinnamon, because I like cinnamon. I don’t know if it made a big difference, but it tasted fine.

IMG_8540Just plop some down on the center of your dough circle. You have to be careful with how much you put in each, as it might ooze out when you pinch the sides together. I learned that the hard way.

IMG_8545                                                                                        Fold it in half, and pinch the sides together.                                                                                                                             IMG_8546

Press down on the edges with a fork to seal in the filling.

IMG_8549

You might want to do it on both sides. Just in case. So, flip it over!

IMG_8554                                                                                           Cut a slit in the center so the filling can breathe.

IMG_8555                                                                      I sprinkled a bit of sugar on top. Bake for 30 minutes in 400 F.

IMG_8562                                                                                                                              Out it goes.

IMG_8576

IMG_8575

Awww, look! It’s nestled in a Slytherin scarf .

IMG_8581

Grab your Harry Potter books, or pop in a movie, get a cup of tea, and you’re ready to go! Enjoy!

Recipe: 

Serves about 10. 

Crust: 1

1 9-inch pie crust. (You can use premade ones too.) Cut this recipe in half. This is my favorite recipe though:

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup butter, chilled and diced
1/2 cup ice water

Filling:
1 cup canned pumpkin, not pumpkin pie filling
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
Procedures
1

Combine the flour and salt in a large bowl. Cut in the butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in the ice water, a tablespoon at a time, until the crust mixture forms a ball. Wrap dough in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 4 hours or overnight. Sprinkle flour onto rolling surface. Roll dough out, then divide in half.

2

Combine the pumpkin, sugar, nutmeg, and cinnamon in a mixing bowl. Mix well. Preheat the oven to 400°F. Roll out the dough 1/8-inch thick.

3
Put 2 to 3 tablespoons of the filling in the center of each circle of dough. Moisten the edges with water, fold the dough over the filling, and crimp with a fork to seal the edges. Cut slits to make vents. Bake on an ungreased cookie sheet for 30 minutes or until browned.

Recipe courtesy of: http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2011/08/pumpkin-pasties-harry-potter-recipe.html

And there you have it! Hope you guys have a magical time baking and eating these! 

IMG_8596

Leave a Reply

